Saturday, May 23, 2015
FOLLOW US: 

 


 Rev. Sean and Rev. Johnetta Tarkington of St. James A.M.E. Church

The Men’s Ministry of St. James A.M.E. Church will sponsor three events on the theme, ‘Men Under Construction – Road Work Ahead.’

The Achievement Reception is set for Friday, August 23 at 7 p.m., at St. James, 655 West 70th Street in Los Angeles, said Pastor Sean Tarkington.

“KJLH broadcaster Aundrae Russell, Councilman Bernard Parks, and the Rev. Dr. Cecil ‘Chip’ Murray will be honored,” he said. The donation is $25.

On Saturday, August 24 at 2 p.m., mentoring organizations will be recognized at a ceremony held at KIPP Academy, 7019 South Van Ness Avenue in Los Angeles.

The ‘True Men Worship’ experience takes place on Sunday, August 25, at St. James. The honorees are Curtis Simpson, CEO of Simpson Family Mortuary; Leon Garr, former president of Founder’s National Bank; Lisa Collins, publisher of LA Focus Newspaper, and Kappa Alpha Psi, Inc.

“You hear about fatherless homes and incarcerated men, but there are still men who want to make a difference in our community and we want to celebrate them,” said Pastor Tarkington.

“Events like these help the church impact the community.  My vision is to continue these programs and make them innovative enough to attract the Latino population, the unchurched youth, and members of broken homes to our church.”

For information, call (323) 758-6786


 

Category: Religion


Click to
Win!

Events Calendar

Mon May 25 11:00AM -
67th Annual Memorial Day Service
Sat May 30 9:00AM -
Afrikan Mental Liberation Weekend
Sat May 30 11:30AM -
Black Mother: Standing in the Gap
Sun May 31 9:00AM -
Afrikan Mental Liberation Weekend
Sat Jun 6 11:00AM - 5:00PM
21st Annual Gilmore Heritage Auto Show
Tue Jul 14 5:00PM - 9:00PM
Taste of Farmers Market
Sun Aug 2 12:00PM - 3:00PM
L.A. Parent 35th Birthday Bash