Sunday, May 24, 2015
FOLLOW US: 

The City of Inglewood will host free concerts on Sundays during the month of June in the new Grevillea Art Park, located at 231 S. Grevillea Ave. The concerts will be held on Sunday June 14, 21, and 28, and will begin at 3:00 p.m. and conclude by 5:00 p.m.

Sunday, June 14, will feature the Delian Music Jazz ensemble to open the show, followed by Charles "Chazzy" Green, a local popular jazz saxophonist.

Sunday, June 21, Fathers Day, R&B artist Jimmy Roland will perform.

Sunday, June 28, will be the final concert, featuring Dennis DeLoach (dePoet), followed by jazz impressions, a quartet of talented students from El Camino College.

During each performance, docents will be available for tours of the History of Transportation Mural, or to answer questions. The newly restored mural, which was re-dedicated in 2007, is nearly the length of a football field, and was designed by artist Helen Lundeberg for the U.S. government's Federal Arts Project under the Works Project Administration (WPA) and installed in what was then Centinela Park in 1940.

The Sunday spring concerts are a great opportunity to enjoy viewing a world famous artwork while listening to great music. These concerts are being sponsored by the City's Historic Site Preservation Committee and Parks, Recreation and Community Service Department with support from Hollywood Park Casino.

Category: News


Click to
Win!

Events Calendar

Mon May 25 11:00AM -
67th Annual Memorial Day Service
Sat May 30 9:00AM -
Afrikan Mental Liberation Weekend
Sat May 30 11:30AM -
Black Mother: Standing in the Gap
Sun May 31 9:00AM -
Afrikan Mental Liberation Weekend
Sat Jun 6 11:00AM - 5:00PM
21st Annual Gilmore Heritage Auto Show
Tue Jul 14 5:00PM - 9:00PM
Taste of Farmers Market
Sun Aug 2 12:00PM - 3:00PM
L.A. Parent 35th Birthday Bash