Thursday, December 18, 2014
FOLLOW US: 
Advertisement:

Eighth District City Councilmem-ber Bernard Parks took his first step towards the Los Angeles County 2nd District seat to be vacated by Yvonne Burke at the end of her term, he said. His recently formed “Bernard Parks for Supervisor” committee is helping him raise money for a formal announcement later this year. He “looks forward to tackling the big issues of education, healthcare, transportation and public safety.”

“It is critical that our next supervisor possesses the same problem solving skills, the breadth and depth of experience as well as the tireless work ethic to carry on Burke’s great work,” Parks told reporters.

“She is a legend who has done an extraordinary job on behalf of her constituents.”

As Los Angeles’ former top cop turned councilmember, Parks has been involved in eighth district improvements like the annual Youth Jobs and Career Fair and multiple farmers’ markets.

As police chief, he was responsible for the Officer Accountability Policy and other department reforms. A spokesperson for Parks said under his watch at LAPD, “homicides in Los Angeles dropped to their smallest numbers in modern city history, hitting lows of 419 in 1998 and 420 in 1999.”

Category: Politics




Taste of Soul Sponsors
Click to
Win!

Events Calendar

Thu Dec 18 12:00AM
34th Annual Black Doll Show
Fri Dec 19 12:00AM
34th Annual Black Doll Show
Sat Dec 20 12:00AM
34th Annual Black Doll Show
Sun Dec 21 12:00AM
34th Annual Black Doll Show
Mon Dec 22 12:00AM
34th Annual Black Doll Show
Tue Dec 23 12:00AM
34th Annual Black Doll Show
Wed Dec 24 12:00AM
34th Annual Black Doll Show
Thu Dec 25 12:00AM
34th Annual Black Doll Show
Fri Dec 26 12:00AM
34th Annual Black Doll Show
Sat Dec 27 12:00AM
34th Annual Black Doll Show