Saturday, April 18, 2015

Councilmember Herb J. Wesson, Jr. (CD 10) was elected Vice-Chair of the Exposition Metro Line Construction Authority at its meeting on Thursday, June 7. Council-member Jan Perry (CD 9), the former vice-chair, has become the new chair of the seven-member board that oversees the design and construction of the newest light rail line extension of the Metro Rail System.

“This light rail line is essential to the success of our efforts to combat traffic gridlock in our region. I am honored to have the confidence of my fellow board members in my ability to lead the Authority as we move this important project forward,” said Wesson.

Wesson was nominated for the position by Culver City Councilmember Alan Corlin, and was elected unanimously. Councilmembers Wesson and Perry will take their positions at the July board meeting, and will serve in those positions for two years.

According to the Authority’s Administrative Code, the vice-chair of the Construction Authority automatically becomes the next chair, allowing Councilmember Wesson to serve as chair in 2009-11, when Phase I is scheduled to be completed.

The 9.6 mile Phase I of the line will run along the Metro-owned right-of-way from 7th Street/Metro Center Julian Dixon Station in downtown Los Angeles to National/Washington Boulevards near the border of Los Angeles and Culver City. Four of the eleven stations in Phase I will be located in Wesson’s 10th Council District. These include stations at Crenshaw Boulevard, La Brea Avenue, La Cienega Boulevard, and National/Washington Boulevards.

Category: Local

WIN TICKETS to MOTOWN The Musical, Party with the Cast, and Walk the Red Carpet!

Click to